

December 13, 2015 - PHRF-LE MEETING MINUTES -Houlihan's, Westlake, OH

Attendance: B.Kellner, Merkle, Raynor, Mills, Lengyel, Ryan, Tushak, Kulwicki, Barry, Burris, Schiavoni, Gilford, Ruckstuhl, Lillo, J. Kellner

Administrative – Meeting was called to order at 11:00am with a quorum present. Minutes were reviewed and approved with no changes from the November 15th meeting.

New Applications Base Rating

<u>Modifications</u> <u>Base Rating</u>

<u>Appeals</u> <u>Base Rating</u>

Beneteau First 38- Brian Renn/Vermilion Yacht Club- PHRF LE has the highest rating of all the national ratings. Boat below standard of other boats in the same rating band, i.e sails, crew.

No change

Treasurers Report -

- Balance at 12/12/15 18,578.40. Check Register through 12/12/15.
- 2016 Budget Approved budget; no change to fee structure for 2016. New applications will remain at \$25.00 and renewals will be at \$35.00.

OLD BUSINESS

- Rating Range Review 151 to 200 review list and make assignments
- New Boat Rating Review continue review

NEW BUSINESS

- Report from ILYA Winter Meeting Dec 4th and 5th, Holiday Inn, Perrysburg, OH
 Dave Ryan presented his notes on the comments from the meeting. 13 people attended the meeting in
 addition to the PHRF representatives. Comment were as follows: to update the minutes for timely and
 post a "draft" from May/June meeting over the summer break, allow for an anonymous appeal of a
 competitor. The committee discussed the anonymous appeal previously and it was turned down
 unanimously. More detail on minutes was requested and other communication/PR from the committee.
- The officers for 2016 were presented and there were no nominations from the floor. The vote was unanimous and the Officers for 2016 will remain the same as follows:

Bill Kellner – Chairman and Chief Handicapper

Chris Merkle – Vice Chairman

Judy Kellner - Secretary/Treasurer

 Handicapper attendance was reviewed and Aarne Lillo was added as a new Area Handicapper from Edgewater Yacht Club. The committee regretfully accepted Doug Howe's resignation from the committee. Reasons stated from Doug were due to work and less racing and more cruising. Area handicappers for 2016 were confirmed as follows:

Dick Synowiec/Ford Yacht Club

Chris Merkle/Lorain Colin Mills/Grand River

George Raynor/Chagrin Lagoons Bill Kellner/Sandusky Sailing Club

Jon Tushak/Erie Yacht Club David Lengyel/Ashtabula Roger Pollack/Grosse Ile

Dave Ryan/Catawba Island Club Mike Barry/Buffalo Yacht Club

Jim Kulwicki/Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club

Sandy Burris/Lakeside

Paul Schiavoni/Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club

John Glanville/Monroe Boat Club Keith Gilford/North Cape Yacht Club Cliff Ruckstuhl/Port Clinton Yacht Club Aarne Lillo/Edgewater Yacht Club

514 members for 2015; 521 members in 2014; 533 members 2013; 574 members in 2012; 604 members in 2011; 605 members 2010; 616 members 2009; 619 members 2008; 629 members 2007; 644 members 2006; 668 Members in 2005

Next Meetings: Sunday, January 17th – Houlihan's, Westlake, OH (changed)

Sunday, February 7^{th} – Houlihan's, Westlake, OH Sunday, March 13^{th} – Houlihan's, Westlake, OH

Wednesday, March ___ - Bill to speak at BHSC meeting; Paul setting this up

Sunday, April 17th – Erie Yacht Club – meet 11:30am for lunch, 1:00-2:00 for general meeting,

2:00-4:00 for committee meeting

Thursday, May 22nd – Houlihan's, Westlake, OH